[Skip to Content]
Home  »   Pauline Rowson  »   Books  »   Events  »   News  »   Blog  »   Videos  »   Subscribe   »   BUY  »   Contact  »   Rights  »   Plays  »   CSI
 

Latest Blog

Writing routines - crime author Pauline Rowson discusses hers

I'm often asked about my writing routine. Do I have one and if so what is it? How much time do I spend when writing?

Dead Passage a DI Andy Horton crime novel by Pauline RowsonDEAD PASSAGE is the latest in the DI Andy Horton series, number fourteen. It is available in paperback, as an ebook and on Amazon Kindle.

"A detective novel in the tradition of Rankin and Harvey." Mystery People Magazine






POSTED BY: PAULINE ROWSON
JANUARY 13TH, 2019 AT 8:19:58 UTC

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus

 

Video Interview-Pauline Rowson talks to Tony Smith about her rugged and flawed detective DI Andy Horton


Pauline Rowson with Dead Passage and Death Lies BeneathThis video interview was recorded in December 2012. I'm talking to Tony Smith of Angel Radio about my marine set mystery crime novels set on the South Coast of England. Since this was recorded further DI Andy Horton crime novels have been published which includes Undercurrent, Death Surge, Shroud of Evil, Fatal Catch, Lethal Waves and in 2018, DEAD PASSAGE.

In addition, my new hero, former marine commando, Art Marvik was introduced in a new marine-set mystery thriller series. Silent Running, Dangerous Cargo and Lost Voyage.




POSTED BY: PAULINE ROWSON
JANUARY 10TH, 2019 AT 7:58:53 UTC

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus

 

Subscribe to my newsletter


Dead Passage a DI Andy Horton mysteryAll the latest book news, talks, interviews and articles from Pauline Rowson, author of the marine-set crime novels featuring DI Andy Horton and the Art Marvik mystery thrillers. Plus news of  her forthcoming new 1950 set mystery series featuring a brand new detective.





POSTED BY: PAULINE ROWSON
JANUARY 9TH, 2019 AT 13:08:34 UTC

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus

 

Art Marvik Mystery Thriller Dangerous Cargo in audio book



Dangerous Cargo an Art Marvikmystery thriller Former Royal Marine Commando now undercover investigator, Art Marvik, has a new and deadly mission to accomplish for the National Intelligence Marine Squad (NIMS) to catch a ruthless killer whose murders span over half a century.

Marvik’s mission takes him to the Dorset coastal town of Swanage, the Isle of Purbeck and the spectacular coastline of Dorset, Hampshire and the Solent. Available in paperback, as an ebook on Amazon Kindle and on Kobo



'Delivering more than enough action to keep adrenaline junkies reading.' Booklist


Watch the video book trailer for Dangerous Cargo.






POSTED BY: PAULINE ROWSON
JANUARY 8TH, 2019 AT 14:21:27 UTC

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus

 

Researching police procedure and crime scenes for crime novels



Dead Passage an Inspector Andy Horton crime novel by Pauline RowsonI'm often asked how I research my crime novels and in particular the police procedure and crime scene investigation side of things. I'm not married to a police officer or a former police officer so I didn't start off with any inside knowledge. I am married to a retired fire fighter though so when it comes to fires, burnt bodies and serious traffic and other incidents which fire fighters attend, I have a wealth of information to draw on which can be incorporated into a crime novel. Indeed I have done so.

So where do I get the police procedural information from and how can writers obtain this kind of information?



Read more about researching police procedure





POSTED BY: PAULINE ROWSON
JANUARY 7TH, 2019 AT 5:30:33 UTC

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus

 

A phone call sparks an investigation for DI Andy Horton


Dead Passage, DI Andy Horton mystery by Pauline RowsoniIn the previous blogs I have talked about the locations that inspired me for DEAD PASSAGE, number 14 in the DI Andy Horton series. These are Rat Island in Portsmouth Harbour, The Spur Redoubt, the Solent Forts and Lumps Fort, the latter now Southsea Rose Gardens.

In addition to locations the idea for DEAD PASSAGE also came when I was crossing on the Wightlink Ferry the St Clair from Portsmouth to the Isle of Wight.





POSTED BY: PAULINE ROWSON
JANUARY 3RD, 2019 AT 11:34:20 UTC

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus

 

Pauline Rowson's year ahead 2019


Crime author Pauline RowsonHappy New Year. Here we are in 2019 and it looks set to be another interesting year. I'll leave World affairs to other pundits here I take a look ahead to what is planned on the crime writing front and with my crime novels and talks. A much safer bet I think!

Two new crime audio books to be released, a brand new 1950 set crime novel to be launched, publication in the USA, talks and lots happening on the writing front




POSTED BY: PAULINE ROWSON
JANUARY 1ST, 2019 AT 8:39:04 UTC

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus

 
Location:  Home   »  Blog