[Skip to Content]
Home  »   Pauline Rowson  »   Books  »   Events  »   News  »   Blog  »   Videos  »   Subscribe   »   BUY  »   Contact  »   Rights  »   Plays  »   CSI
 

Fascinating Forensic Facts – what crime writers need to know about blood pattern analysis


Pauline Rowson and DI Andy Horton crime novel Dead PassageBeing a crime writer involves researching some very gruesome things but also some very interesting forensic aspects of crime.

For my crime novels I’ve researched gunshot wounds, death by crossbow, poisons (a favourite of Agatha Christie’s), blunt force trauma, suffocation, fire and more. I am incredibly grateful to all the forensic scientists, Hampshire police officers and the Hampshire Fingerprint Bureau and crime scene investigators who have assisted me.

I thought I would share some information on blood pattern analysis I gleaned for both my Detective Inspector Andy Horton crime novels set in Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight (14) and for my Art Marvik mystery thriller series (3) set along the South Coast of England.

What do Blood Pattern Analysts do?

Analysts examine the size, shape, distribution and location of the bloodstains to form opinions about what happened at the scene of the crime. They assist investigators in answering questions such as:

• Where did the blood come from?
• What caused the wounds?
• What type of instrument was used?
• From what direction was the victim wounded?
• Was the victim standing, sitting, or lying on the floor?
• How were the victim(s) and perpetrator(s) positioned?
• What movements were made after the bloodshed?
• How many potential perpetrators were present?
• Does the bloodstain evidence support or refute witness statements?

Trained bloodstain pattern analysts can examine the blood evidence left at the crime scene and draw conclusions as to how the blood may have been shed. They can use photographs and diagrams to provide additional information about the crime scene. From what may appear to be a random distribution of bloodstains at a crime scene, analysts can categorize those stains by gathering information from spatter patterns that assist investigators in reconstructing the crime, corroborating statements from witnesses, and including or excluding potential perpetrators from the investigation.

A fascinating if not gruesome subject and some interesting background information for crime authors like me.

Dead Passage - Inspector Andy Horton number 14

Dead Passage an Inspector Andy Horton crime novel Available in paperback, as an ebook and on Amazon Kindle.

A mysterious telephone call sends Horton on a complex and twisted investigation into the death of a local politician twelve years ago and uncovers a trail of lies, secrets and revenge with roots deep in the past.

"A detective novel in the tradition of Rankin and Harvey." Mystery People Magazine

"Pauline Rowson is one of the most talented crime and thriller writers in the UK. By choosing locations and plot lines that are unique to her 'marine mysteries' she has set herself apart from the tried and tested formulae within the genre." Book Depository


Where to buy Pauline Rowson's books

Pauline Rowson's books are available from all good booksellers in paperback, hardback, as an ebook, on Amazon Kindle, on Kobo and as unabridged audio books. They can also be loaned from libraries in the UK, Commonwealth and the USA.

Buy Pauline Rowson's books Amazon USA

Buy Pauline Rowson's books Amazon UK

Buy from your UK local bookshop

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus  Pin It on Pinterest






POSTED BY: PAULINE ROWSON
NOVEMBER 16TH, 2018 @ 8:06:21 UTC
 
 


Leave Comment

 
 
  P E L O I N
 
 
Location:  Home   »  Blog