[Skip to Content]
NEW crime mystery thrillers  »   Books  »   Pauline Rowson  »   News  »   Blog  »   Subscribe   »   BUY  »   Talks and events  »   Contact  »   Rights

Pauline Rowson entertains Alverstoke Women's Institute

Alverstoke WI Pauline Rowson talking about crime writingOver eighty members of Alverstoke Women's Institute turned out on Tuesday 3 March 2020 to hear author Pauline Rowson talk about how she writes and researches her popular crime novels set on the South Coast of England.

She explained how locations along the south coast provide the inspiration for her crime novels of which there are now twenty and how she turns these ideas into her multi-layered and gripping plots. 

Alverstoke WI Pauline Rowson talking about her 1950 set mystery DEATH IN THE COVEPauline talked about her crime busting fictional heroes, the flawed and rugged Portsmouth copper DI Andy Horton, (14) her undercover investigator, Art Marvik a former Royal Marine Commando (3) her two standalone thrillers IN COLD DAYLIGHT and IN FOR THE KILL and her 1950 set mystery, DEATH IN THE COVE introducing Inspector Ryga, published in September 2019.

Hailed in the UK, USA and Commonwealth as the "Best of British crime fiction" "A good read for mystery lovers," "gripping, compelling and full of twists and turns," Pauline Rowson's crime novels are all set against the backdrop of the ever changing sea on the south coast of England.

Alverstoke WI Pauline Rowson showing how she develops ideas for her crime novelsPauline Rowson explained how she develops her plot lines by creating a storyboard; how she creates her characters using spidergrams and how she researches the police procedure and the forensic aspects of her multi-layered crime novels. Following her talk there was a lively question and answer session and a book signing.

A Deadly Wake, DI Andy Horton 15 by Pauline RowsonA DEADLY WAKE, number 15 in the Inspector Andy Horton mystery series is published in paperback, as an e book, and on Kindle and Kobo on 2 June 2020.

It is available for pre-order.

As DI Andy Horton follows the trail of a man found dead in a log cabin on the Isle of Wight, he uncovers some startling revelations into his own mother’s past and the truth behind her disappearance over thirty years ago.

DEATH IN THE COVE is the first in Pauline Rowson's 1950 set mystery series introducing Scotland Yard detective,  Inspector Alun Ryga.  Set on the Isle of Portland, Dorset it is published in paperback, as an e book, on Amazon Kindle and on Kobo and as an audio book.

Death in the Cove, an Inspector Alun Ryga 1950 mystery England 1950, a country still struggling to come to terms with peace in the grip of austerity and rationing.

When the body of a man dressed in a pinstriped suit is discovered by war photographer, Eva Paisley, in a secluded bay on Portland Island, Dorset, Inspector Alun Ryga of Scotland Yard is sent to investigate.  Recently promoted, the thoughtful, observant Ryga, is on his first solo investigation outside of London, and is keen to prove his worth. Ignoring the warnings of the local police inspector, and the Dorset Chief Constable, that his trust in Eva Paisley is misjudged, Ryga quickly realises that her observations could provide the breakthrough he needs in a complex murder investigation and the answer to the haunting circumstances that have sent the man in the pinstriped suit to his death.

For more information please contact us.

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Pin It on Pinterest

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus


Location:  Home   »  News