[Skip to Content]

Thrilling Poole Probus with tales of crime and mystery

Poole Probus, Pauline Rowson demonstrating her plot lines for her crime novelsIn the absence of being able to give talks to groups in 2020, and probably in 2021, because of the Covid-19 pandemic, I'm continuing my theme of looking back at those talks I have given over the years. Here is one I gave in 2016 to the lovely members of Poole Probus on Tuesday 15 November at the Connaught Hotel, Bournemouth, Dorset. 

I talked about my fictional crime busting heroes DI Andy Horton and former Royal Marine Commando, Art Marvik and how I plot, research and write my crime novels set primarily on the South Coast of England.

Poole Probus, Pauline Rowson explaining how she writes her crime novelsI spoke about my troubled rugged and flawed Portsmouth detective DI Andy Horton  who lives on a small yacht in Southsea Marina and rides a Harley Davidson.  DI Andy Horton features in fifteen crime novels.

Poole Probus, Pauline Rowson talking to members and book signingMy talk was followed by a very lively Q & A session and a book signing.  The audience were lovely.  It was great  to meet  some DI Andy Horton fans and to introduce my Art Marvik mystery thrillers to so many eager listeners and readers. My thanks to Poole Probus for inviting me to talk to them.

I'm looking forward to the day when these very social events can resume and when I can once again entertain an audience.

Inspector Andy Horton Mystery no. 15

A Deadly Wake a DI Andy Horton MysteryNumber 15 in the DI Andy Horton series set against the backdrop of the sea on the South Coast of England in Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight

As DI Andy Horton follows the trail of a man found dead in a log cabin on the Isle of Wight, he uncovers some startling revelations into his own mother’s past and the truth behind her disappearance over thirty years ago.

Published in paperback, ebook, on Amazon Kindle and Kobo order on line and from all booksellers

Since this talk took place I  also have a new hero on the block, Scotland Yard's Inspector Ryga who is sent out to solve coastal crimes.  Set in 1950s England.

Death in the Cove, an Inspector Alun Ryga 1950 crime novel

DEATH IN THE COVE is available in paperback, e book, Kindle and audio book.

When the body of a man dressed in a pinstriped suit is discovered by war photographer, Eva Paisley, in a secluded bay on Portland Island, Dorset, Inspector Alun Ryga of Scotland Yard is sent to investigate.  Recently promoted, the thoughtful, observant Ryga, is on his first solo investigation outside of London, and is keen to prove his worth. Ignoring the warnings of the local police inspector, and the Dorset Chief Constable, that his trust in Eva Paisley is misjudged, Ryga quickly realises that her observations could provide the breakthrough he needs in a complex murder investigation and the answer to the haunting circumstances that have sent the man in the pinstriped suit to his death.

DEATH IN THE HARBOUR, Inspector Ryga mystery by Pauline RowsonrMyra Swinley is convinced that her police constable husband’s death was no accident, and that he would never have lost his footing on a dark, foggy November night on the quayside of Newhaven Harbour while on his beat. Determined to get to the truth she visits Scotland Yard to ask his former friend, Detective Superintendent Street, to investigate.   Street says they have no basis to do so, but when Myra fails to return home from her visit to the Yard, Inspector Ryga is sent down to the Sussex coast to investigate. 

Accompanied by former war photographer, Eva Paisley, who has been airlifted back to England after suffering a wound incurred in Korea, Ryga’s investigation soon begins to uncover some puzzling facts.  Painstakingly, and with Eva’s assistance, Ryga begins to unravel the mystery of why an ordinary police constable was murdered and his sensible law-abiding wife has gone missing.

DEATH IN THE HARBOUR is available in paperback, ebook, Kindle and audio book.

In addition to the above there are three mystery thrillers in the Art Marvik series, the former Royal Marine Commando now an undercover investigator for the UK's National Intelligence Marine Squad.

Art Marvik Mystery Thrillers by Pauline Rowson"Fans of Rowson’s DI Andy Horton books will be delighted with her new series featuring former marine commando Art Marvik.A tense, terrifying thrill ride that twists and turns with dizzying speed, combined with a likable, smart, tough, but all too human hero, make this a cracking-good new series—action fans need Marvik on their radar." Booklist on SILENT RUNNING.

The ART MARVIK series of mystery thrillers are published in paperback, ebook, Kindle, Kobo, Apple Books and Google- Buy now

You can subscribe to my monthly newsletter for book updates, talks, videos and more.

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Pin It on Pinterest

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus


Location:  Home