[Skip to Content]
Latest Books  »   Crime novels, mysteries,thrillers  »   Pauline Rowson  »   News  »   Blog  »   Subscribe   »   BUY  »   Talks  »   Contact  »   Rights
 

Pauline Rowson entertains readers (and dogs) during National Crime Reading Month


Pauline Rowson's two new crime fiction fansTwo special guests attended my talk at Fareham Library on 17 May 2019 as part of the Crime Writers' Association National Crime Reading Month  and they were, as you would expect, perfectly well-behaved being two Guide Dogs for the blind.  So too were their owners and rest of the audience! I'm continuing my theme of looking back at my talks because of the absence of them since the Covid-19 crisis banned all social gatherings in Britain.  But it won't be long now (hopefully) to when I can post a brand new LIVE talk on my website as I am booked to do my first talk since lock down in March 2020 on 27 July 2021 to Portsmouth U3A.

I talked about my crime novels and my crime busting fictional heroes, the flawed and rugged DI Andy Horton, my undercover investigator, Art Marvik a former Royal Marine Commando and my 1950 Scotland Yard detective, Inspector Alun Ryga who is sent out to the coast to solve baffling crimes.


Fareham Library Pauline Rowson demonstrating her plot linesI  explained how locations along the south coast of England provide the inspiration for my crime novels of which there are now twenty-three and how I turn these ideas into multi-layered and gripping plots.

I am delighted that my crime novels have been hailed in the UK, USA and Commonwealth as the "Best of British crime fiction" "A good read for mystery lovers," "gripping, compelling and full of twists and turns."


Pauline Rowson talking about her crime novelsI explained to the enthralled audience (including the Guide Dogs) how I develop plot lines by creating a storyboard; how I create my characters using spider grams and how I research the police procedure and the forensic aspects of my novels.  I'm grateful for the assistance of Hampshire constabulary, the crime of scene officers, Hampshire fingerprint bureau, investigating offices and the police marine unit.



Following my talk there was a lively question and answer session and a book signing. It was a pleasure to talk to the lovely audience at Fareham Library.

The enigmatic sailing detective  DI Andy Horton features in fifteen crime novels with TIDE OF DEATH the first in the series and A DEADLY WAKE number fifteen.  I am currently writing number sixteen ( 2021). There are now four in the Marvik, mystery thriller series, with SILENT RUNNING the first and DEAD SEA, number four in the series.

Inspector Ryga, who is sent out to solve  baffling coastal crimes, features in the first, set on Portland Island, Dorset - DEATH IN THE COVE, the second is set in Newhaven, East Sussex - DEATH IN THE HARBOUR, with number three, DEATH IN THE NETS, set in Brixham, Devon to be published on 4 October 2021.


Dead Passage an Inspector Andy Horton crime novel Available in paperback, as an ebook, on Amazon Kindle and Kobo

A mysterious telephone call sends Horton on a complex and twisted investigation into the death of a local politician twelve years ago and uncovers a trail of lies, secrets and revenge with roots deep in the past.

"A detective novel in the tradition of Rankin and Harvey." Mystery People Magazine









POSTED BY: PAULINE ROWSON - MAY 17TH, 2021 @ 6:31:27 BST
Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus

 


Location:  Home   »  News