[Skip to Content]
Pauline Rowson  »   BIO  »   Books  »   Talks  »   News  »   Blog  »   Subscribe   »   BUY  »   Plays  »   Contact  »   Rights  »   Articles/Videos
 

Latest Blog

The mystery of the man in a pinstriped suit found dead in an isolated cove

Death in the Cove by Pauline Rowson'The clues are there, but I followed the red herring and didn’t guess the murderer. Will you? Don’t miss this first book in what is sure to be a first-class series. Whilst the murderer is unmasked there are left some tempting hooks for the next book. Highly recommended.' Mystery People Magazine.

It's September 1950. Inspector Alun Ryga of Scotland Yard is sent down to the Island of Portland in Dorset to investigate the death of a man wearing a pin striped suit found on the shore in the isolated Church Ope Cove, Portland.

Read an extract of Death in the Cove




POSTED BY: PAULINE ROWSON
NOVEMBER 18TH, 2019 AT 10:33:33 UTC

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus

 

The seven emotional stages of writing a novel


Pauline Rowson with DI Andy Horton Footsteps on the ShoreMany, if not all fiction writers, ride the emotional roller coaster of emotions when crafting their novel. For me, each stage of writing a novel brings with it a range of different emotions. These range from excitement to frustration, relief, doubt, fear, anxiety plus a whole lot in between.

So here then is the gauntlet of emotions I run while writing one of my crime novels.






POSTED BY: PAULINE ROWSON
NOVEMBER 15TH, 2019 AT 8:30:44 UTC

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus

 

On the crime scene with DI Andy Horton in DEAD PASSAGE


Dead Passage, DI Andy Horton crime novel by Pauline Rowsonn DEAD PASSAGE (14) in the DI Andy Horton series of crime novels is set on Horton’s CID patch, Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight.

It is locations that often inspire me and with this crime novel while three locations inspired me the idea for DEAD PASSAGE also occurred to me while I was travelling on the Wightlink ferry, the St Clare, from Portsmouth to the Isle of Wight one day.

A mysterious telephone call sends Horton on a complex and twisted investigation into the death of a local politician twelve years ago and uncovers a trail of lies, secrets and revenge with roots deep in the past.


Here is just one of the locations that is used in DEAD PASSAGE and an extract from the novel.




POSTED BY: PAULINE ROWSON
NOVEMBER 11TH, 2019 AT 11:34:32 UTC

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus

 

Lies, secrets and revenge in DI Andy Horton, DEAD PASSAGE

A mysterious telephone call sends Horton on a complex and twisted investigation into the death of a local politician twelve years ago and uncovers a trail of lies, secrets and revenge with roots deep in the past.

"A detective novel in the tradition of Rankin and Harvey." Mystery People Magazine


DEAD PASSAGE is available in paperback, as an ebook, on Amazon Kindle and Kobo and for loan in public libraries


 


POSTED BY: PAULINE ROWSON
NOVEMBER 6TH, 2019 AT 7:01:29 UTC

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus

 

Remember, remember the fifth of November

Guy Fawkes planned the failed Gunpowder Plot of 5 November 1605. Immediately before his execution on 31 January, Fawkes fell from the scaffold where he was to be hanged and broke his neck.

Crime novels that go with a bang

Happy bonfire night - stay safe







POSTED BY: PAULINE ROWSON
NOVEMBER 5TH, 2019 AT 7:04:34 UTC

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus

 

How I write - a work in progress - short video

Ever wondered how I write my crime novels? Well here is a short video I made on 3 November 2019 on the work in progress of Inspector Ryga 1950 set mystery number 2.



DEATH IN THE COVE, Inspector Ryga mystery available in paperback, ebook, Kindle, Kobo and audio book






POSTED BY: PAULINE ROWSON
NOVEMBER 4TH, 2019 AT 11:50:14 UTC

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus

 

What's on in November 2019

November 2019 will see me busy finishing revisions on the second in the Inspector Ryga 1950 set mystery series. The first DEATH IN THE COVE was published in paperback, e book, Kindle, Kobo and audio book on 26 September. In addition to writing I'll be thinking through ideas for another crime novel, and two giving talks in November, one to the Women's Institute another to a Probus Club in Bournemouth.




POSTED BY: PAULINE ROWSON
NOVEMBER 1ST, 2019 AT 6:36:03 UTC

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Share on Google Plus

 
Location:  Home   »  Blog