[Skip to Content]

A look back at my crime novels published 2017

Crime Novels by Pauline Rowson published in 2017In 2017 two of my crime novels were published in hardcover and as ebooks, Lethal Waves and Lost Voyage, one was published as an unabridged audio book, Death Surge, and one was published in paperback, Dangerous Cargo.

Lethal Waves, Inspector Andy Horton (13) published in the UK and USA in hardcover and as an ebook

Lethal Waves, an Andy Horton Marine Mystery by Pauline RowsonLethal Waves, featuring the flawed and rugged detective, Andy Horton was published by Severn House in 2017. Andy Horton is tasked to solve another complex crime, set against the backdrop of the sea on the South Coast of England.

'Nothing in this police procedural is as it first appears. The Harley Davidson–riding, boat-dwelling Horton is a fascinating man to get to know, and his thoughtful approach to detection is a pleasure to read.' Publishers Weekly

'This heart-breaking story of ambition, greed, jealousy, and revenge makes a good choice for fans of no-nonsense British procedurals.' Booklist

DI Andy Horton’s meal with his old friend, Inspector John Guilbert of the States of Guernsey Police, is cut short when a woman is found dead in her cabin on the ferry from Portsmouth to Guernsey. There doesn’t appear to be any suspicious circumstances. It's not Horton's case. But as soon as Horton returns to Portsmouth he's called in to investigate the death of a vagrant found lying partially covered under a rotting houseboat. This time, it’s clearly murder. Troubled by the many unanswered questions surrounding both deaths, Horton must call upon all his skills and intuition to solve a complex case, uncovering dark secrets that have led to such lethal waves of destruction.

The new Art Marvik Mystery Lost Voyage

Lost Voyage a marine based mystery by Pauline RowsonLost Voyage, the third in the marine mystery series featuring former Royal Marine Commando, Art Marvik, an undercover investigator for the UK's National Intelligence Marine Squad (NIMS) was published in 2017 by Severn House in hardcover and as an ebook

'Plenty of action, I didn't want to put the book down. A good read for mystery/ thriller fans.' Net Galley

Lost Voyage is set against the backdrop of the Severn Sisters cliffs, Beachy Head and the coastal towns of Newhaven and Eastbourne on the south coast of England.

Marvik is surprised to receive an unexpected summons to meet Helen Shannon, a woman he helped on his first mission. When a body is discovered in her flat, Marvik is convinced that Helen is being framed for murder, but why and by whom? Before he has a chance to follow it up, Marvik is called in to investigate the disappearance of a salvage vessel, the Mary Jo, which went missing in 2003. As Marvik delves into the past, it becomes clear that he faces a desperate battle to keep Helen and others safe from a ruthless assassin – one who will stop at nothing in order to protect the secret of the Mary Jo’s last voyage from ever being exposed.

Second Art Marvik Mystery published in paperback

Dangerous Cargo, the second in the Art Marvik marine crime seriesDangerous Cargo was published in April 2017 in paperback. It is also published in hardcover and as an ebook

'Rowson’s superhero, Art Marvik, returns in another pulse-pounding adventure. The plot starts slowly but ramps up quickly, delivering more than enough action to keep adrenaline junkies reading.' Booklist

For his second mission with the National Intelligence Marine Squad, (NIMS) Marvik is detailed to attend the funeral of a man who’d officially been declared dead fifty-five years earlier. So who is the imposter and why did he assume the name of a dead man? When an innocent woman is killed during the course of the investigation, Marvik realizes that the stakes are much higher than he’d previously thought. As he begins to uncover a trail of deceit, corruption and murder that spans over half a century, Marvik must confront a ruthless killer who will stop at nothing to make sure that the sins of the past stay in the past.

Death Surge, Inspector Andy Horton, published as an unabridged audio book

Death Surge, audio book, DI Andy Horton by Pauline Rowson Death Surge, the tenth in the police procedural crime series featuring the Portsmouth detective, Inspector Andy Horton, was published as an unabridged audio book by Soundings in September 2017, narrated by Gordon Griffin MBE.

Soundings, part of Isis Publishing, is the World’s leading publisher of unabridged audio books. Soundings has published eight in the DI Andy Horton series of thirteen crime novels as unabridged audio books and the first in the Art Marvik thriller series, Silent Running. Check out all the audio books here.

Death Surge is also available in paperback and as an ebook.

A telephone call from a frantic Sergeant Cantelli to say that his nephew is missing cuts short DI Horton’s sailing trip to France. What began as the hunt for a missing man becomes the search for a ruthless killer...

'A crisply written, cleverly plotted procedural with a nice twist.' Booklist USA

Where to buy Pauline Rowson's books

Pauline Rowson's books are available from all good booksellers in paperback, hardback, as an ebook, on Amazon Kindle, on Kobo and as unabridged audio books. They can also be loaned from libraries in the UK, Commonwealth and the USA.

Buy Pauline Rowson's books Amazon USA

Buy Pauline Rowson's books Amazon UK

Buy from your UK local bookshop

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Pin It on Pinterest

DECEMBER 21ST, 2017 @ 12:00:03 GMT

Leave Comment

  G T D J A U
Location:  Home   »  NEWS/BLOG