[Skip to Content]

Who is Inspector Andy Horton and what makes the rugged detective tick?

Dead Passage an Inspector Andy Horton crime novelThere are fourteen  crime novels in the DI Andy Horton series. Number 14, DEAD PASSAGE, is published in paperback and as an e book on 18 October 2018 and is available for pre-order from all booksellers and on line, on Google Play and Amazon Kindle.  Or ask your local library to reserve you a copy. 

In DEAD PASSAGE a mysterious telephone call sends Horton on a complex and twisted investigation into the death of a local politician twelve years ago and uncovers a trail of lies, secrets and revenge with roots deep in the past.

But perhaps you're not familiar with the flawed and rugged Portsmouth based detective.  So here is a little bit about Detective Inspector Andy Horton and a list of the Horton crime novels in order.

Who is Andy Horton? What makes Andy Horton tick?

Andy Horton is an instinctive rather than an intellectual cop with a highly formed sense of justice. Raised in a succession of children's homes he finds he can never quite trust. He is tough and resilient, but deeply empathetic. A dry sense of humour is the key to Horton’s investigative approach. It’s how he keeps people at arm’s length and stays detached from the crimes he investigates. His greatest strength is his ability to put himself in a victim’s shoes, to imagine events from their perspective (even the moments up to their death), making leaps of deduction few would be able to. And he’s most often right.

Horton is especially tough on bullies, or people who abuse their power or position, as they remind him of those in the children’s homes. He feels a duty of care to the victims of the crimes he investigates and often feels he’s the only person looking out for them; the only one who can bring the guilty to justice so that the dead can rest. No one cared about him when he was a child; he won’t let that happen to anyone else.

What is the order of the DI Andy Horton crime novels?

Tide of Death
Deadly Waters
The Suffocating Sea
Dead Man's Wharf
Blood on the Sand
Footsteps on the Shore
A Killing Coast
Death Lies Beneath
Death Surge
Shroud of Evil
Fatal Catch
Lethal Waves
Dead Passage

Set against the atmospheric backdrop of the sea of Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight, the DI Andy Horton police procedural crime novels have been hailed by reviewers as "exemplary," "multi-layered" "cleverly plotted" and "full of twists and turns"with an "especially good series hero, a likeable fellow with plenty of street smarts and the requisite personal baggage."

The Inspector Andy Horton crime novels are available in paperbacks, as ebooks, on Amazon Kindle and on Kobo, as unabridged audio books and in large print. They can purchased from any bookshop and on line and are available for loan in libraries in the UK, USA and Commonwealth.

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Pin It on Pinterest

SEPTEMBER 28TH, 2018 @ 6:41:27 BST

Leave Comment

  H Y C N N S
Location:  Home   »  NEWS/BLOG