[Skip to Content]

What's on in May 2019

Shroud of Evil DI Andy Horton audiobookI'm delighted to announce that on 1 May SHROUD OF EVIL, a DI Andy Horton crime novel will be released as an unabridged audio book narrated by Gordon Griffin MBE and published by Soundings.

Shroud of Evil is number 11 in the Inspector Andy Horton series of 14. It is already published in paperback and as an ebook, on Amazon Kindle and on Kobo.

Ten of the DI Andy Horton crime novels are available as audio books and two in the Art Marvik mystery thriller series.

Publishers Weekly says of Shroud of Evil, "A compelling protagonist and mounting suspense make the book hard to put down." Here's a brief summary of the story-line.

When Horton is assigned the case of a missing person: Jasper Kenton, a private investigator, the formidable Eunice Swallows, Kenton’s business partner, seems unwilling to give Horton any useful information, and Horton – irritated at being assigned such a low-ranking investigation – suspects the disappearance has a mundane explanation. Either Kenton is with a woman, or he’s stolen from a client and absconded with the money. But when Kenton’s car turns up, and a shocking discovery is made, things turn serious. Immediately, Horton finds himself embroiled in an investigation that has major personal ramifications, and one in which he has no choice but to withhold vital information. As he struggles to crack the case, he knows it is only a question of time before someone discovers he’s kept silent, and when that’s revealed, his part in hindering a major investigation will end his career .

Forthcoming talk

On 17 May I will be talking about the inspiration behind my crime novels and how I research, plot and write them at Fareham Library, Osborn Road, Fareham PO16 7EN Telephone: 0300 555 1387 or book online.


I'll be working on DI Andy Horton number 15 in the series in which Andy has a new investigation to undertake and one that leads him to discovering the truth behind his mother's disappearance over thirty years go. It might be the final DI Andy Horton.

Meanwhile if you haven't tried the DI Andy Horton crime novels then there are plenty to catch up on. DEAD PASSAGE, (number 14) was published in October 2018.

Dead Passage an Inspector Andy Horton crime novel Available in paperback, as an ebook, on Amazon Kindle and Kobo

A mysterious telephone call sends Horton on a complex and twisted investigation into the death of a local politician twelve years ago and uncovers a trail of lies, secrets and revenge with roots deep in the past.

"This book has all the juicy ingredients that make a good story: an historic death of a politician, a daughter who urgently wants to speak to the inspector, as she has ‘something to reveal’ about her father’s death, and also a few interesting characters that keep you guessing about who’s telling the truth…and who has something to hide." BH Living Magazine

Inspector Alun Ryga 1950 set crime novel

Death in the Cove an Inspector Alun Ryga mystery by Pauline RowsonAlso in May I'll be progressing the forthcoming publication of the first in my new historical crime series set in 1950 featuring a Scotland Yard detective, Inspector Alun Ryga, who is sent to the Island of Portland, Dorset to investigate the body of a man wearing a pinstriped suit found on a deserted cove.

Publication date 26 September.

I'll also be working on revisions to the second in the Inspector Ryga series for publication in 2020.

Once again lots to keep this crime writer fully occupied.

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Pin It on Pinterest

MAY 1ST, 2019 @ 7:33:48 BST

Leave Comment

  X H P R F D
Location:  Home   »  NEWS/BLOG