[Skip to Content]
NEW crime mystery thrillers  »   Books  »   Pauline Rowson  »   News  »   Blog  »   Subscribe   »   BUY  »   Talks and events  »   Contact  »   Rights

DI Andy Horton in DEAD PASSAGE what makes the flawed detective tick?

Dead Passage an Inspector Andy Horton crime novelDEAD PASSAGE is number 14 in the DI Andy Horton series with number 15 to be published in June 2020, A DEADLY WAKE. 

In DEAD PASSAGE a mysterious telephone call sends Horton on a complex and twisted investigation into the death of a local politician twelve years ago and uncovers a trail of lies, secrets and revenge with roots deep in the past.

But perhaps you're not familiar with the flawed and rugged Portsmouth based detective.  So here is a little bit about Detective Inspector Andy Horton and a list of the Horton crime novels in order.

Who is DI Andy Horton?

Andy Horton is an instinctive rather than an intellectual cop with a highly formed sense of justice. Raised in a succession of children's homes he finds he can never quite trust. He is tough and resilient, but deeply empathetic. A dry sense of humour is the key to Horton’s investigative approach. It’s how he keeps people at arm’s length and stays detached from the crimes he investigates. His greatest strength is his ability to put himself in a victim’s shoes, to imagine events from their perspective (even the moments up to their death), making leaps of deduction few would be able to. And he’s most often right.

Horton is especially tough on bullies, or people who abuse their power or position, as they remind him of those in the children’s homes. He feels a duty of care to the victims of the crimes he investigates and often feels he’s the only person looking out for them; the only one who can bring the guilty to justice so that the dead can rest. No one cared about him when he was a child; he won’t let that happen to anyone else.

The DI Andy Horton crime novels in order

Tide of Death (1)
Deadly Waters (2)
The Suffocating Sea (3)
Dead Man's Wharf (4)
Blood on the Sand (5)
Footsteps on the Shore (6)
A Killing Coast (7)
Death Lies Beneath (8)
Undercurrent (9)
Death Surge (10)
Shroud of Evil (11)
Fatal Catch (12)
Lethal Waves (13)
Dead Passage (14)
A Deadly Wake (15)

Set against the atmospheric backdrop of the sea of Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight, the DI Andy Horton police procedural crime novels have been hailed by reviewers as "exemplary," "multi-layered" "cleverly plotted" and "full of twists and turns"with an "especially good series hero, a likeable fellow with plenty of street smarts and the requisite personal baggage."

The Inspector Andy Horton crime novels are available in paperbacks, as ebooks, on Amazon Kindle and on Kobo, as unabridged audio books and in large print. They can purchased from any bookshop and on line and are available for loan in libraries in the UK, USA and Commonwealth.

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Pin It on Pinterest

SEPTEMBER 16TH, 2019 @ 9:21:35 UTC

Leave Comment

  D G B L V S
Location:  Home   »  Blog