[Skip to Content]

The story behind the Art Marvik Mystery Thrillers

I like heroes and I’m a sucker for adventure stories, thrillers and mysteries which is why I created my enigmatic detective DI Andy Horton who currently appears in fifteen novels and my quiet and thoughtful 1950s detective, Inspector Ryga, who is currently in two mystery novels with number three to be published in autumn 2021. But I also had a hankering to create a new character someone who was not bound by the official rules of the law, but who was nevertheless on the right side of it. The series also had to have all the hallmarks of my brand – a troubled hero, the sea, boats, interesting and diverse characters and lots of action. So already the stage was set for Art Marvik.

Silent Running, Marvik mystery thriller by Pauline RowsonMarvik first appears in SILENT RUNNING  fresh out of the Royal Marines where he had served in the elite Special Boat Services. He’s tough, highly trained, fearless, intelligent and fit.  But injuries inflicted while in combat forced him to leave the Marines and seek a new life in Civvy Street.  He’s not sure what lies ahead for him. Then his former Marine comrade, Shaun Strathen, enlists his help to find a missing computer scientist and a former girlfriend of Marvik’s goes missing after visiting him in his remote Isle of Wight cottage and Marvik finds  himself enlisted to work as an undercover marine investigator for the newly formed National Intelligence Marine Squad, headed by Detective Chief Superintendent Philip Crowder. 

Marvik’s role in the squad is to go into a mission practically cold with minimum information, to ask questions, to stir up trouble, to put himself on the line and to provoke a killer into the open.  He’s done it often in the Marines.  He sees no problem in doing it for the National Intelligence Marine Squad. 

Art Marvik Mystery Thrillers by Pauline Rowson

There are four in the Marvik mystery thriller series, SILENT RUNNING, DANGEROUS CARGO, LOST VOYAGE and DEAD SEA all focus on crimes that have a marine connection (obviously) and also links to the past.

Scarred physically from his combat injuries Marvik is also emotionally scarred by the death of his parents – his mother, a renowned marine archaeologist, his father an acknowledged expert in oceanography – were killed in an underwater earthquake in 1997.  DANGEROUS CARGO introduces a new twist to their deaths and in DEAD SEA Marvik finds the answer to the mystery.

"Fans of Rowson’s DI Andy Horton books will be delighted with her new series featuring former marine commando Art Marvik.A tense, terrifying thrill ride that twists and turns with dizzying speed, combined with a likable, smart, tough, but all too human hero, make this a cracking-good series-action fans need Marvik on their radar." Booklist 

The ART MARVIK series of mystery thrillers are published in paperback, as an ebook, on Kindle, Kobo, Apple Books and Google - Buy now

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Pin It on Pinterest

FEBRUARY 6TH, 2021 @ 5:06:29 GMT

Leave Comment

  Y R V M R A
Location:  Home   »  NEWS/BLOG