[Skip to Content]
New crime mystery thrillers  »   Books  »   Pauline Rowson  »   News  »   Blog  »   Subscribe   »   BUY  »   Talks and events  »   Contact  »   Rights
 

Dead Passage, Inspector Andy Horton (14)


Dead Passge an Inspector Andy Horton Mystery by Pauline RowsonA mysterious telephone call sends Horton on a complex and twisted investigation into the death of a local politician twelve years ago and uncovers a trail of lies, secrets and revenge with roots deep in the past. 

"A detective novel in the tradition of Rankin and Harvey." Mystery People Magazine 

"All the juicy ingredients that make a good story: an historic death of a politician, a daughter who urgently wants to speak to the inspector, as she has ‘something to reveal’ about her father’s death,  interesting characters that keep you guessing about who’s telling the truth,and who has something to hide." BH Magazine 


Detective Inspector Andy Horton receives a mysterious telephone call from Adele Goldsby, the daughter of a dead Portsmouth politician, with an urgent request to meet her on the Isle of Wight ferry because she has something to reveal about her father’s death twelve years ago. When she doesn’t show, Horton is at first inclined to think it was a hoax until more information comes to light.  As he unofficially looks into the circumstances surrounding the politician’s death he becomes more convinced that the initial investigation was cursory to say the least, a fact that is borne out by Sergeant Cantelli who was on the case.  With increasing concerns over the continued silence from Adele Goldsby and as new evidence is unearthed connected to a long ago killing, Horton believes the politician was murdered.  Now all he has to do is convince his bosses.


Detective Inspector Andy Horton


Inspector Andy Horton is a flawed and rugged cop, instinctive, tough and resilient, but deeply empathetic. A man very much defined by a tormented past, but with hopes for his future. Living on board his small yacht in Southsea Marina since his estrangement from his wife, the sailing detective is a man rarely at peace, unless he is on the sea. When fighting crime he is prepared to take risks and is fearless in his search for justice. He's been raised in children's homes and foster homes after his mother abandoned him as a child. He has a desperate need to belong and yet is always on the outside. Being alone is his greatest fear, yet he is alone.

Reviews

 
"Andy Horton is an especially good series hero, a likeable fellow with plenty of street smarts and the requisite personal baggage…

"Procedural fans who haven’t already read Rowson should be encouraged to do so in the strongest possible terms." Booklist USA

"If you are a fan of traditional detective fiction in a vivid setting that makes you believe that you are there, you will love this one.” Mystery People Magazine 



The DI Andy Horton books in order



Where to buy


Pauline Rowson's books are available from all good booksellers in paperback, hardback, as an ebook, on Amazon Kindle, Kobo, Google Books and Apple Books.  Some are also available as  audio books.

They can also be loaned from libraries in the UK, Commonwealth and the USA.


Available from all good booksellers and for loan in libraries in the UK, Commonwealth and the USA.

Like on Facebook  Tweet on Twitter  Share on Linkedin  Pin It on Pinterest



Location:  Home   »  Books   »  Inspector Andy Horton Crime Novels   »  Dead Passage