Buy on Amazon UKBuy on Amazon US

Meet Inspector Ryga

1950s Britain, struggling to come to terms with peace, in the grip of austerity and rationing. Meet Inspector Alun Ryga of Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad. Having survived WW2 in a prisoner of war camp, he’s vowed to get justice for those who need it. Ryga is sent out with only a moment's notice to assist in baffling coastal crimes around Britain.

About Inspector Alun Ryga

Ryga is ex Merchant Navy and a former German prisoner-of-war. His ship was seized by a German Raider in 1941 as a result of which he was incarcerated for the rest of the war in MILAG, (Marine Internierten Lager). Here he had to learn how to cope with the uncertainty, fear and deprivations of forced incarceration with no option but to wait, hope and pray that the war would soon be over and the Nazis would be defeated.

His experience has made him observant, analytical and reflective. It has also given him insights into his fellow man. He’s witnessed compassion, cruelty, cowardice and heroism, mental breakdown and despair. He’s made a promise to himself that whatever happens after the war he’ll keep an open mind and never judge. His experience at sea, and as a prisoner-of-war, have made him unique in his approach to solving coastal based crimes.

Inspector Ryga is part of Scotland Yard's Murder Squad, a specialist in solving baffling coastal crimes. His background as an ex Merchant Navy seaman means he understands the sea, and those who work, live and play around and on it. His sidekick, Sergeant Jacobs of the Yard, stays in London while Ryga teams up with, and works with other police officers in the towns, ports and bays around Britain where his investigations take him.


 The setting

The Inspector Ryga novels are set against the backdrop of the sea.  The first takes Ryga to the stunning rugged coast of the Royal Island of Portland in Dorset; the second to the murky November mists of Newhaven in East Sussex; the third to the small fishing port of Brixham on a cold wet January in 1951 and number four to be published in July 2023 to the vast expanse of Dungeness on the Kent coast.

See a map of where the Inspector Ryga historical mysteries are set.

The Inspector Ryga Historical Mysteries


Available on Amazon Kindle, Kindle Unlimited, paperback and audio book


"Inspector Ryga is an engaging lead character, shaped by his war-time experiences to be a sensitive, astute detective.The interesting setting of post-war Britain is soaked in atmosphere and I loved the complex, twisting plot. Historical crime-writing at its very best." Amazon

Other books in this series

Death On Board
Death in the Dunes
Death in the Harbour
Death in the Cove
Death In the Nets


About Pauline

Pauline Rowson lives on the South Coast of England and is the best selling author of many crime novels, published by Joffe Books. Her popular crime novels include the DI Andy Horton Solent Murder Mystery series, the Art Marvik mystery thrillers and the 1950s set Inspector Ryga mysteries. Subscribe to her newsletter for all the latest books news.

Back to Top