Buy on Amazon UKBuy on Amazon US

Death in the Dunes (4)

1951, Dungeness, Kent. A bitterly cold day in March, Inspector Alun Ryga is sent to the Kent coast to investigate the murder of woman found dead in the dunes.

Death in the Dunes

It’s a bitterly cold day in March when Inspector Alun Ryga alights from the train on the Kent coast. Despite its name, Greatstone-on-Sea was far from great — no matter what any holiday poster advertized.

But Ryga’s not here for a holiday. He’s here because Barbara Fennel, a former pilot, has been found dead in the dunes by a local fisherman.

The marks around Barbara’s neck suggest she was strangled, but there’s no sign of a murder weapon.

When the fisherman goes missing, he becomes the prime suspect. But nobody knows anything about him, let alone where they can find him.

Meanwhile, Ryga traces Barbara’s steps back to the shabby house she rented in Hythe. He finds is a subminiature camera stuffed in her nightdress case — the kind usually used by spies.

Suddenly Ryga is embroiled in a case filled with secrets and lies. A case where no one is who they say they are, and things aren’t always what they seem . . .



"Oh more of these please! Even though I guessed most of this, as in who was who and who did what, I was still turning pages wanting to know how Ryga would put it all together and get the killer. Great reading. More please Ms Rowson!"

"Another excellent book. Inspector Ryga is an interesting character of the post-war era. Looking forward to the next book to find out what happens to Ryga."

"Just finished the series, enjoyable read, yes with twists I didn’t expect, keeps you guessing. I had to smile at first …..what no mobiles or computers? Bought back memories! Look forward to more."

"Well written mystery, with a complex and sympathetic detective. Can be read as a stand alone, though it is number 4 in a series. Looking forward to another."

"Brings the atmosphere and era alive."

Other books in this series

Death On Board
Death in the Harbour
Death in the Cove
Death In the Nets


About Pauline

Pauline Rowson lives on the South Coast of England and is the best selling author of many crime novels, published by Joffe Books. Her popular crime novels include the DI Andy Horton Solent Murder Mystery series, the Art Marvik mystery thrillers and the 1950s set Inspector Ryga mysteries. Subscribe to her newsletter for all the latest books news.

Back to Top